Creating New Workspaces

In addition to the standard public workspace that is shared by all users, and the single private workspace that each user has, Arcadia Instant enables users who have the Create Workspace privilege to create custom workspaces. These workspaces may be shared by specific users and user groups to develop and view dashboards that are inherently useful to their line of business. Within each of these workspaces, each user has a defined access level: View Only, Edit, or Manage.

develop: Only users with Create Workspace system-level privilege can perform this task.

The following steps demonstrate how to create a new custom workspace in Arcadia Instant. We will name it Rachel's Workspace.

  1. On the main navigation bar, click Visuals.
  2. On the left side menu, find the Workspaces section.

  3. Click on the (plus) icon. Note that this icon is only available to users who have the Create Workspace privilege.

  4. In the Create Workspace modal window, enter the Name and Description of the new workspace.

    We are naming the workspace Rachel's Workspace.

  5. [Optional]

    In the (user) textbox, enter the account name of an existing user.

    In the (group) textbox, enter the name of one or more existing user groups. To include everyone, type Everyone.

    Click Add.

  6. After adding all users and user groups, select the appropriate type of access: View Only, Edit, or Manage.

    • View only

      Users with this privilege can see the contents of the workspace, but they are unable to make any changes.

    • Edit

      Users with this privilege can move dashboards in and out of the workspace.

    • Manage

      Users with this privilege can change the name of the workspace, delete it, add and remove users, add and remove user groups. This also includes all Edit privileges.

    Note that the user admin is part of the access matrix, as the creator of this new workspace.

  7. Click Save.
  8. The new workspace appears in the list of workspaces.

    Notice that it does not have any dashboards or visuals assigned to it at this time.

To change the properties of the workspace, see Changing Workspace Properties.

To remove the workspace, see Deleting Workspaces.