Moving Dashboards

Moving a dashboard from one workspace to another is very simple: you simply have to select the new workspace.

You may wish to move a dashboard from a development workspace (either private or custom) to a public workspace so that everyone across the organization can use it to access the analytical insights that dashboard provides. Depending on your installation, you may also designate the public workspace as the collection of customer-facing dashboards. See Moving Private Dashboards to Public Workspace and Moving Private Dashboards to a Custom Workspace.

When the dashboard you are moving. contains a linked visual that is used by another dashboard in the workspace, you have two options: to clone it, or to move it. Let us discuss what happens in each case by using the following diagram. Here, we are moving Dashboard B from Workspace I (private) to Workspace II (public). Visual c is a linked visual, used by both Dashboard C and Dashboard B.

Moving a dashboard from private to public workspace

Cloning Linked Visuals

You could clone the linked Visual c; this creates a new Visual d in Workspace II. Note that the new Visual d is also linked.

Dashboard C in Workspace I remains unchanged: Visual c is still there, and it is still a linked visual.

Cloning a linked visual during a dashboard move to a new workspace

Moving Linked Visuals

If you choose to move the linked Visual c, it remains a linked visual in its new location in Workspace II.

However, this has an impact on Dashboard C in Workspace I: while Visual c is still part of the dashboard, it is referenced in an external workspace. Because Visual c is no longer part of the same workspace, users who don't have sufficient permissions for Workspace II will not be able to see the visual from Workspace I. This is likely to happen when moving dashboards from the public workspace into a custom workspace.

Moving a linked visual during a dashboard move to a new workspace

Moving Private Dashboards to Public Workspace

After creating a dashboard in your own private workspace and testing them, you can 'publish' it to the public workspace, where it is available to everyone with (at minimum) viewing privileges for the related datasets.

An owner may designate a private dashboard as public at any time, simply by choosing to move it from the Private workspace to Public workspace:

  1. Click Private in the top menu of the dashboard.
  2. In the drop-down list select an alternate workspace for the dashboard. Here, we chose Public.

  3. After selecting the new workspace, click Save.

  4. Note that the dashboard is now tagged as Public. You can check this by navigating to the Visuals interface, and then selecting and expanding the destination workspace to find the dashboard there.

Moving a dashboard from private to public workspace

This process works for moving dashboards between private, public and custom workspaces, in any direction. All that is necessary are adequate security privileges.

Note that a dashboard cannot be reset to Private after it is added to an app.

Moving Private Dashboards to a Custom Workspace

The following steps demonstrate how to move an Arcadia Instant dashboard from one workspace into another. Here, we are moving the dashboard World Life Expectancy from the Private workspace to the custom workspace Rachel's workspace.

  1. Click the name of the workspace in the top menu of the dashboard.

    Here, the dashboard is currently in the Private workspace.

    moving dashboard
  2. In the drop-down list select an alternate workspace for the dashboard, and click Save.

    Here, we chose the workspace Rachel's Workspace.

    selecting custom workspace
  3. Because this dashboard uses linked visuals, you have an extra decision to make.

    • Clone Visual: This creates a new linked visual, but breaks the connection between visuals. See Cloning Linked Visuals.

    • Move Visual: This option removes the linked visual from the workspace, and all the dashboards that use it start referencing it from its new workspace. Depending on the combination of security permissions, users who were able to see the visual when it was hosted in the original workspace may loose that visibility. See Moving Linked Visuals.

    deciding what to do with linked visuals when moving dashboards to a new workspace
  4. Note that the dashboard is now tagged as Rachel's Workspace.

    dashboard moved to new workspace